Need help with hedging

MB MLB 728x90 Jpg

Cortez

Registered
Forum Member
Nov 23, 2013
BC, Canada
I originally posted this in the General Discussion forum, but it was suggested to try posting it here to...

Prior to the US Open I made several futures (all "to win tournament outright"), and now that we're into the semi's I'm sitting pretty but want to hedge out to ensure a nice profit. I'm fairly new to betting futures like this so I'm not sure what the best strategy is when hedging. Here's what I got...

I'm in for 10u so far on 5 different guys. 3 have been eliminated (Dimitrov, Berdych, Isner), but I still have the following bets in play:

Djokovic: 6u to win 11.5u
Cilic: 1u to win 150u

Cilic plays Federer next. I'm considering either buying some out on Federer to win match at -325, or taking Federer to win it all at +270.

I'm not going to bother with Nishikori.

Any thoughts?

sds222

Registered
Forum Member
Dec 31, 2006
If you put 4 units on Fed to win it all +270 = 10.8, then:

If joke wins, 11.5U minus 1u (cilic) and 4u (fed) = 6.5U
If fed wins, 10.8U minus 6u (djok) and 1u (cilic) = 2.8U
If cilic wins, 150U minus 6u (djok) and 4u (fed) = 140U

If Nishi wins your screwed.

I would probably just let it eat only because it's hard for me to see Fed beating Djok or even Cilic at this point. He looked awful vulnerable against Monfils.

The other guys in here would probably have more insight than me so take this with a grain of salt.

kickserv

Wrong Forum Mod
Forum Member
May 26, 2002
Canada
My two cents............

1st off, I don't hedge, I always say if you place the bet on someone to win then stick with it, why did you place the bet in the 1st place if you aren't going to ride it out:shrug:

For example I have Caroline Wozniacki to win the US Open at odds of 29-1 and I ain't hedging that bet.