Non Compete Agreement

MB MLB 728x90 Jpg

toastonastick

Forum Member
Nov 25, 2003
Atlanta
Anyone ever been takin to court on one of these. I was just served papers asking for one million in damages. Yes I did sign it and then go to a competitor. But the working conditions had gone to shit and were not the same as when I started there. Four other people quit fo the same reason and said that they would testify or whatever to help me.

So I am suppose to keep working at a shitty employer because I signed a non compete agreement, when others will testify to that fact? The business I am in, is the business I know and could'nt make near the money in another feild.

I really think this is more of a scare tatic than anything else.

Like I have a million just sitting in the bank!

My new employer is providing counsel but wont pay if there is a judgement against me.

Any suggestions?

Blackman

Winghead
Forum Member
Aug 31, 2003
New Jersey
I'm no lawyer - but I find it hard to believe that they can hold you to this - you have a right to work. I had to sign one when I took my current job, asked around and I got the impression that it is not worth the paper it is printed on.

Hopefully someone with actual experience on this can weigh in for you.

GL with your situation, I think you'll be fine.

Chain Saw

Forum Member
Sep 15, 2003
Not an attorney either. But it does depend on what state you're in. General consensus is that most are non-competes are uninforcible.

Remember one important thing. Your new company that is providing counsel. Unless you are paying his fees-he is not your counsel - he (or she) is the company's counsel and looking out for their best interests not necessarily yours.

Best of luck.

MB NCAAF 728x90 Jpg

hemiscatpak

Forum Member
Dec 8, 2003
Winnetka, CA