Northern Pike Ice Fishing NW Wisconsin Style.

MB MLB 728x90 Jpg

bleedingpurple

Forum Member
Mar 23, 2008
Where it is real F ing COLD
Bringing a few buddies ice fishing on the Gordon Flowage to catch some Northern Pike on Friday.. The Flowage is one of the better fisheries to catch Pike in numbers but due to the heavy population of the fish the size is stunted. Most are 3 - 5 pounds and one can catch a 10 pounder plus.. We catch Pike ice fishing by doing the following.... I know the lake well so I knows where to catch em..

1. Get to the location. I will be fishing in an area where the water depth is about 6 to 10 feet of water.

2. Drill the hole. I have a strike master double blade laser auger that goes through the ice like a knife through hot butter. And it is my understanding that the ice is up to 15 inches thick.. -22 degrees here the other night.

3. Get the excess ice and slush away from the hole and use an ice scoop to get the ice out of the hole.

4. Use a tip up with nylon ice fishing line with a 20 lb steel liter at the end. There are many different types of tip ups it doesn't matter. Use a treble hook and hook a Shiner Minnow, Sucker Minnow through the back fin and place a sinker about 2 inches above the liter. The sinker keeps the minnow down. A dead smelt can work as well and sometimes the Pike prefer it. Place the line about 3 feet down from the hole and set up your tip up.. Easy instructions are on the back on how to set the tip up.