Personal Top 10

MB MLB 728x90 Jpg

Birdy

Forum Member
Jun 29, 2004
For my firstpost on this board, I thought I'd run down my predictions for the upcoming college football season. I'm not a professional scout, so all of what I base my opinions on is second-hand (Phil Steele, Lindy's, etc.), but I think there's some objectivity to be had when considering, at least, how the teams look on paper.

In terms of thread direction, I suppose comments on my rankings are appropriate, but the idea would be to share your top 10 as well.

- Birdy

1. Oklahoma. Be honest. Before the Sooners were defeated the Big-12 title game, you thought they were unbeatable, a lock for the national title. Turns out, of course, it wasn't meant to be, and the Sooners, having ripped off 12-straight victories to open the season (including obscene final scores like 77-0 and 65-13), went on to lost their final two games. The late-season meltdown notwithstanding, the Sooners may have been the most talented team in the nation last year, and from that team return 17 starters -- including Heisman winner Jason White and nine others from the offense. With a lot to prove and tons of talent with which to prove it, the national title is simply theirs to lose.
Prediction: 13-0

2. Georgia. Not much to say here; the Bulldogs are experienced and deep on both sides of the ball, flying high with perhaps their best team in over 20 years. A power program that's ready to bring it hard, everything points to a serious run at an undefeated season.
Prediction: 12-1

3. USC. Southern Cal returns the nation's best quarterback and, should Mike Williams return, the most intimidating quarterback-to-wide receiver duo in recent memory. Like Georgia, the Trojans have clearly reemerged as an elite program with 23 wins the past two seasons, and are defending co-national champions.
Prediction: 11-1