Real Estate/General Investment Opinions Needed

NySportsfan

Forum Member
Jun 26, 2002
Long Island, NY
What?s up everyone,
I have lurked on madjacks for years, just rarely ventured into the financial boards, because Im a young guy, and just recently have started thinking about investing and such, I have a plethora of questions and thoughts I wanna get from people, and Im sorry if they?re not in the most eloquent fashion, just trying to get my points across, and I skip around a lot so I apologize, just whatever pops into my head
First thing, I wanted to invest in real estate, first by buying a lower priced house, living in it for 6mos-1yr, building equity, then renting it out to make a few hundred dollars profit a month, then buy a new house to live in, and repeat that process a few times. Just the one caveat, I gamble for a living primarily, not a whole lot of w-2 income, and Im afraid the mortgage place wont give me a loan because of it, even though I can show tax returns, just think they?ll be insecure with that and feel my income is unstable even though I treat gambling as a business. Also, didn?t know where to advertise rental property and attract tenants and how to set a monthly rent price, but that?s one thing.
Second, I put a decent amount into a Roth IRA starting recently using tech funds index, but wanted to know recommendations there, Im in it for the long term definitely with a Roth, just curious what funds are good. Also, wanted to do some mutual funds and was curious some decent ones there, I know Im being vague but just looking for a starting point.