real estate investments and stuff in Ontario:

TORONTO-VIGILANTE

ad interim...
Forum Member
Dec 27, 2000
"...Quo fas et gloria ducunt..."
hi.

i've decided that i'd like to dabble in real estate investment and to start off small and in my area of the country: Ontario

I'd like to get a bit more money in my pocket....hell, even if it's a $100 per month increase through apartment complexes or whatnot.

I'm looking into the Hamilton area right now.....

I just wanted to know if anyone here has any advice for me or tips that'll help smooth out any learning that i have to do in this domain.

please remember, i'm new to this and i'd like it to be relevant to canadian real estate rules and regulations and stuff.....

thanks in advance for your thoughts.

selkirk

Forum Member
Jul 16, 1999
Canada
Greetings TV

As for you thread about Cdn. Mortgage interest I do not see how you can take it off, unless it is a comercial property or you are renting it out. maybe he borrows for the RRSP and deducts the interest then takes the money he was going to put toward the RRSP and pays down the mortgage. you can take off interest if the loan is for investment purposes. should caution not everything you read in a book can be done, know two people who followed advice in one book, and now have back taxes and penalties to pay.

As for Real Estate I HATE the idea of renting. know 3 people it worked for and they have made a good return. however here are a few reasons why I think it is a bad idea.

1. know someone who rented out his house while he was working up north at a mine. decided after the first month to kick them out, 45 days later (very long story) and the courts got them out. house was destroyed $129,000 in damages. Can you go after them sure get blood from a stone, not worth it.....