Starting a business ?

MB MLB 728x90 Jpg

SPORTO

Forum Member
May 4, 2003
PA
I was wondering if anyone had any advice for starting a business. I am a Union electrician that was recently layed off. Work has been slow around us (more men than jobs avalible). And will be like this for a few more years maybe. I am interested in starting my own business. I was thinking about A Gym, a White castle (like we don't have enough fast food resturants by us), or possibly a sports bar. If anyone has any advice or suggestions for starting or getting a loan please feel free to reply back I need all the help I can get.
Thanks Fellas!!

WhatsHisNuts

Woke
Forum Member
Aug 29, 2006
Earth
www.ffrf.org
Depends on what kind of financial position you are in. If you are going to start a franchise, I'd suggest looking into service industry ones that you can run out of a small rented office or even out of your home. Check out http://www.entrepreneur.com/franchiseopportunities/index.html for ideas and costs to start.

Since you have a skill, you should think about doing something to leverage it. Perhaps flipping properties would be an idea, although it sounds like you are in an are where the economy is dying.

Just some thoughts.

hsams

Forum Member
Oct 30, 2006
Gym fail 9 out of ten times in first 5 years of operation...

Franchises usually not the way to go-(I will explain later)

Sports bar--many people will give varying opinions-depends on where you live, insurance rates in your area, the state liquor authority in your area (state) etc-how many hours you want to work etc....

of the 3 choices I would go with the sports bar--BECAUSE--there is always someone else who thinks they want to run one if you ever have had enough and want to sell it-- ----I am financial advisor and I have more than 5 clients that own bar/rest--all doing very well financially.......get my email from Jack if you need more info....gl2u

MB NCAAF 728x90 Jpg

MadJack

Administrator
Staff member
Forum Admin