Thursday Night

Sadavis65

Forum Member
Jan 12, 2005
Hey guys, I dont post alot on this board b/c Im relatively new to the game and dont feel confident just yet giving any advice. Im 1-2 on the college season, but if Memphis's QB's leg hadnt fallen off, and Miami could execute a dang FG, it might be a whole new ballgame. But, hey I know, thats football. Does anybody have any thoughts on the OK state game thursday night? I noticed I can get the line at -14 now, and I know nothing about FL Atlantic. Does anyone have any advice/info? Thanks

IE

Administrator
Forum Admin
Forum Member
Mar 15, 1999
Owls positive about season-opening loss

Published Monday, September 5, 2005

It almost happened. Again.

Florida Atlantic University went from the most experienced team in the nation to the least, forcing redshirt freshmen and first-time starters to replace 28 seniors who laid a sturdy foundation based on grit and determination, and the Owls almost pulled off their third stunning upset on the road to start a season.

Kansas paid a fifth-year program $400,000 to come to Lawrence because they wanted an easy non-conference win. What they got was a downright scare.

The Owls took a 13-12 lead late in the third quarter when Danny Embick found running back DiIvory Edgecomb streaking down the sideline for a 66-yard touchdown. At that point there was much to celebrate before the wheels fell off in a 30-19 loss.

?I?m impressed with this Florida Atlantic team,? KU coach Mark Mangino said. ?They are going to win their share of games. We knew it was going to be a tough game.?

Well, tough enough for the first three quarters.

Embick connected on 20 passes for 299 yards and three touchdowns proving he belonged at the helm against the top-ranked Big 12 defense of a year ago. Except for a couple of big plays the Owls? offense couldn?t establish the very thing they needed to pull off the upset. With no running game to speak of, the defense spent the majority of the game on the field.